SKA-India Science Sub-committee

The science activities related to the SKA-India are overseen by the SKA-India Science Sub-committee. The main goals/aims of the committee are:

(a) The committee should oversee the activities of the SKA-India Science Working Groups (SWGs).

(b) The committee should take initiative in preparing documents, articles, reports etc periodically.

(c) The committee should explore possibilities for facilitating maximum participation of Indian astronomers in the SKA international community (i.e., the international working groups).

(d) One important way of interacting with the international community is through attending meetings and conferences. It is expected that SKAIC may be able to fund some of these international travels. The committee should coordinate with the SWGs to nominate suitable people for attending these meetings and request the SKAIC for funding. Some broad guidelines have been formulated for identifying the appropriate meetings and nominating people to attend these.

(e) The committee can also invite, screen and recommend proposals for holding meetings, workshops and training schools (within India) related to the SKA science. These workshops too can be (partially) funded by the SKAIC.

(f) The committee can also look into any specific requirements the SWGs may have. This could include, e.g., computing resources, observational time in the GMRT and other SKA pathfinders and so on.

The Science Sub-committee members represent all the SWGs and SKAIC member institutions. At present the members are:

Name Institution
Abhirup Datta IIT, Indore
Anjan Sen Jamia Millia Islamia, Delhi
Debades Bandyopadhyay SINP, Kolkata
Dharam Vir Lal NCRA-TIFR, Pune
Divya Oberoi NCRA-TIFR, Pune
K.S. Dwarakanath RRI, Bangalore
H.K. Jassal  IISER, Mohali
D. Jagadheep IIST, Thiruvananthapuram
J. Padmanabhan PRL, Ahmedabad
K. Indulekha M.G. University, Kottayam
Kanan Datta Presidency University, Kolkata
Manoj Puravankara TIFR, Mumbai
Neeraj Gupta IUCAA, Pune
Nirupam Roy IISc, Bangalore
Pankaj Jain IIT, Kanpur
Poonam Chandra NCRA-TIFR, Pune
Prasanta Kumar Das BITS-Pilani, Goa
Subhashis Roy NCRA-TIFR, Pune
Supratik Pal ISI, Kolkata
Surajit Paul SPPU, Pune
Sushan Konar NCRA-TIFR, Pune
Tirthankar Roy Choudhury (Chair) NCRA-TIFR, Pune



Document Actions