About Us

In accordance with the "The Sexual Harassment of Women at Workplace (Prevention, Prohibition and Redressal) Act, 2013" of the Government of India of December 2013, the National Centre for Radio Astrophysics (NCRA) of the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR), Pune has set up an Internal Committee (previously Women's Cell) at NCRA-TIFR. NCRA-TIFR is committed to enable women of the institute to pursue their work with dignity and confidence. The aim of the NCRA-TIFR Internal Committee is to maintain a safe workplace for women and a harmonious atmosphere at NCRA-TIFR, and to raise awareness in the community on gender equality issues.


The NCRA-TIFR Internal Committee emphasizes protection against sexual harassment. In addition, the Committee will also engage in organizing various activities promoting gender equality and gender amity. At present, the NCRA-TIFR Internal Committee consists of following members:

Member's NameContact
Prof. Bhaswati Bhattacharyya (Presiding Officer), NCRA-TIFR, Punebhaswati at ncra.tifr.res.in
Prof. Ruta Kale, NCRA-TIFR, Puneruta at ncra.tifr.res.in
Ms. N. L. Shanthakumari, ORT, NCRA-TIFR, Ootyshantha at tifr.res.in
Ms. N. S. Deshmukh, GMRT, NCRA-TIFR, Khodadnsd at gmrt.ncra.tifr.res.in
Ms. M. M. Sabne, NCRA-TIFR, Punesabne at ncra.tifr.res.in
Mr. G. J. Shelton, NCRA-TIFR, Puneshelton at gmrt.ncra.tifr.res.in
Prof. Divya Oberoi, NCRA-TIFR, Punediv at ncra.tifr.res.in
Ms. Renuka Mukadam, Pune(External Member)

  A copy of the office order appointing the present Internal Committee is available here.