#### **SOCIETY MATTERS**

- The ASI conducted astronomy sessions in the National Symposium on Space Science at Sri Venkateswara University, Tirupati. More than ten oral presentations of papers and more than forty poster papers were contributed to these sessions. Three review talks in astronomy were also a part of this meeting.
- A meeting of the general body (GB) of the society took place on Feb.15, 2012 during the National Symposium on Space Science at Sri Venkateswara University, Tirupati. The GB meeting approved change in rules governing the Bulleting of ASI. Two rules are affected by this change.

The new rules are:

#### ·Rule 3b:

An Editor shall be appointed by the Council. The council may appoint a Search Committee for this purpose. The term of appointment of the Editor shall be six (6) years (the 'year' shall throughout stand for a calendar year) and shall be renewable, subject to the provision that no person shall be an Editor of any one publication of the Society consecutively for more than two terms.

An Editor of a publication shall be the Chairman of the respective Editorial Board and shall be responsible to the Council for the execution of the policy in respect of the respective publication. He shall receive funds from the Council for purposes of the publication and shall be accountable to the Council for the funds so received. He shall submit to the Council annually for its approval, within a reasonable time after receiving a request to that effect from the Treasurer, the audited financial accounts of the previous year as well as a budget for the future operation of the publication.

## Rule 3d:

An Editorial Board will consist of at most 10 members. Role of the Editorial Board will be to advise and help the Editor who should consult the members of the Editorial Board in all important policy matters. The Council shall appoint the Members in consultation with the Editor. The term of the Members shall normally be three years. The term of a member may not be renewed more than once.

- The selection panel for the Young Astronomers Award has recommended the paper by Ravindra B. and Howard, Timothy A. Comparison of energies between eruptive phenomena and magnetic field in AR 10930 that appeared in the volume 38 of the bulletin. The award will thus be given to Dr. B. Ravindra. The paper presents a detailed analysis of the CME using high-quality observational data from Hinode/SOT and SOHO/LASCO to extract the energy content of the CME and other physical parameters and interpret the results.
- The ASI meeting of professional and amateur astronomers and those engaged in outreach was held in the Nehru Planetarium, New Delhi on March 4-5, 2012. This provided a platform

for these somewhat diverse community to come together and discuss possibilities for collaborative programs.

- The society plans to support up to two ASI symposia each year. Proposals are invited from ASI members on the specified format, available on the society web page.
- Nominations are invited for the Justice Oak best thesis award for 2009. Please see the society web pages for more details about the award. Nominations should be sent to the secretary of the society.
- Nominations are invited for the new discovery award. Indian astronomers who have discovered a comet, an asteroid, a nova or a supernova are eligible. More details about the award are available on the society web pages. Nominations should be sent to the secretary of the society.
- ASI has been providing financial support for lectures by regular/life members of the society starting with the IYA-2009. The EC has decided to now extend support for other outreach activities like preparation of outreach material, supervising student projects, etc. In each case, the council will evaluate the request before granting the approval. The quantum of funding for each such request will remain at Rs.5000 and each life/regular member can make one such request each year.
- The following new members have been inducted at the recent meeting of the executive council.

## **ASI Life members**

Dr. Murli Manohar Verma

Dr. Alka Misra

Dr. Nissim Kanekar

Dr. Arti Goyal

Dr. Prasun Dutta

Dr. Sandeep Kumar Sirothia

Sumana Nandi

Aritra Basu

Yogesh Chandola

Dr. Chandreyee Sengupta

Visweshwar Ram Marthi

Dr. Bhaswati Bhattacharyya

Dr. Nirupam Roy

Dr. Jayanta Roy

# ASI Associate members

Dr. A. P. Dhande Chander Bhushan Devgun Sachin Bhamba

> **J. S. Bagla** Secretary Astronomical Society of India