## **SOCIETY MATTERS**

The New Executive Council of the Astronomical Society of India for the triennium 2007-09 took charge during the recent Astronomical Society of India meeting (7-9, February 2007). The office bearers are as follows:

J.N. Goswami, (President)

**S.K. Ghosh,** (Vice-President)

Ranjan Gupta, (Secretary)

R.C. Kapoor, (Treasurer)

**S. Annapurni,** (Councillor)

N.M. Ashok, (Councillor)

Najam Hasan, (Councillor)

H.P. Singh, (Councillor)

G.C. Anupama, (Editor, BASI Ex-officio)

S.N. Tandon, (Past President)

The Astronomical Society of India seeks nominations for the Vainu Bappu Award 2006. Nominations may be made as per the prescribed format appearing in the 2007 March issue of the Bulletin of the Astronomical Society of India.

Ranjan Gupta Secretary Astronomical Society of India